Seo Forum

Web Administration => Server Administration => Topic started by: Xatsker on 04-21-2010, 18:03:11

Title: sub.domain to domain/sub
Post by: Xatsker on 04-21-2010, 18:03:11
Is there anyway to change the layout of the sub domain prefix I have a domain social.irlmusic.net is there anyway to make it irlmusic.net/social without having to install the script with in the top level domain?
Title: Re: sub.domain to domain/sub
Post by: Nicpoint45 on 04-21-2010, 18:03:49
I run Apache on linux with cPanel, and had set up subdomains in cPanel. E.g. milk.example.com.

What I found when I went into my server directory structure was a directory named milk, which contained an .htaccess file in its root, a cgi-bin folder and a copy of my error pages in there.

Your best bet is probably to place a redirect in the root of milk.example.com pointing to example.com/milky/ or example.com/milk2/. Were you to redirect milk.example.com to example.com/milk/, and you could access that folder, it would redirect you in an endless loop.